February 25, 2008
Climbers sweep New Climbers Division at ETSU

The Lees-McRae College Climbing Club attended a competition at East Tennessee State University on Saturday. Climbers had the opportunity to meet and climb with college teams from North Carolina and Tennessee.

Twenty Lees-McRae students, notably the largest team at the competition, joined 30 other climbers from Appalachian State University, East Tennessee State University, Belmont Abbey College, and Western Carolina University.

Four Lees-McRae Students placed in the top three of their division and were awarded prizes and certificates. Three Lees-McRae students placed in the New Climbers Division. Jacob Vigneault placed first, J.R. Phillips placed second and Tara Jobe placed third.

Although not placing in the top three, Hannah Trimble, Erin Tyler, Nathan Smith, Adam Phillips, Tom Cockerton, Valerie Jones, Dan Morris and Aaron Linville were close on the heels of the winners. Vic Almeyda, Hershe Crispe, Dani Usedom, Heather Morrison, Yaritza Acosta and Darya Fedoseyeva all made strong efforts, including Leeth Davis who attempted the very difficult Crack Climb.

Lees-McRae College Outdoor Programs helped pay for the students to attend the competition, which was a great success.

All climbers learned a lot and were proud of their climbs," said Dee Thomas, Director of Outdoor Programs. "Congratulations to all climbers!"

Media Contact:

Blaine Hansen  |  Vice President of Strategic Planning and Effectiveness
Tel: 828.898.8838  |  Email: