October 09, 2008
Lees-McRae and the Sugar Mountain Resort host USA Cycling Collegiate Mountain Bike Nationals Oct. 24-26

Don't miss the best collegiate mountain bike riders in the country as Lees-McRae College and the Sugar Mountain Resort host the 2008 USA Cycling Collegiate Mountain Bike National Championships Oct. 24-26.

Division I and Division II teams will compete in four mountain biking disciplines beginning with the cross country races on Friday, October 24. Competitors will race around a five-mile loop on the campus of Lees-McRae College in Banner Elk.

Saturday morning the excitement begins with the men's and women's short track races. Competitors will race around a one-mile loop near the athletics complex on the campus of Lees-McRae College.

Then on Saturday afternoon, riders will compete in the men's and women's downhill races at the Sugar Mountain Resort. Riders will race down the ski slopes on Sugar Mountain in what always proves to be an exciting competition.

The weekend excitement concludes on Sunday with the spectator favorite dual slalom events on the campus of Lees-McRae. The awards ceremony will follow the dual slalom.

This is the second year for Lees-McRae College and Sugar Mountain Resort to host this event. Lees-McRae College's cycling team came in one point below the leader in the Division I USA Cycling Collegiate National Rankings for the 2007-2008 season and is a favorite for the 2008 Collegiate Mountain Bike Nationals. Other favorites to watch during the competition are Fort Lewis College of Durango, CO, currently ranked number one; University of Colorado at Boulder; Lindsey Wilson College of Columbia, KY; and Colorado State University.

For additional information, please contact Meghan Wright, Communications Officer, at (828) 898-8729 or visit

Media Contact:

Blaine Hansen  |  Vice President of Strategic Planning and Effectiveness
Tel: 828.898.8838  |  Email: