News
October 17, 2010
Hogwarts Professor at Lees-McRae October 25

High Country residents will have the opportunity to study with the Hogwarts Professor himself, literary scholar and author John Granger, named by Time Magazine as the "dean of Harry Potter scholars," at Lees-McRae College Carson Library in Banner Elk at 7 p.m. on Monday, October 25

He is the author of several books analyzing the literary, spiritual, and structural artistry that are at the core of the success of J.K. Rowling's stupendously popular novels. An engaging, thought-provoking, and highly entertaining speaker, Granger has spoken across the country, revealing the "keys" to understanding Harry Potter, including understanding the books as intrinsically Christian alchemical works in the tradition of Shakespeare and C.S. Lewis.

Granger's programs will reveal the keys that have made the Harry Potter novels the shared text of our generation. Both those who have followed all of Harry's adventures and those who merely wonder what all the Harry mania is all about will be enchanted by any of the presentations, all of which are free, open to the public, and appropriate for all audiences.

There are three opportunities to see Granger in the High Country. Granger will be at Black Bear Books in Boone at 4 p.m. on Sunday October 24, at Mayland Community College in Spruce Pine at 10 a.m. on Monday, October 25, and at Lees-McRae College Carson Library in Banner Elk at 7 p.m. on Monday October 25. Books, including the newly released Harry Potter Smart Talk and Harry Potter Unlocked, will be available for purchase after each program. You can learn more about the work of the Hogwarts Professor on his blog: www.hogwartsprofessor.com. Don't miss these magical events!

Media Contact:

Megan Hall  |  Director of Communications
Tel: 828.898.8729  |  Email: hallm@lmc.edu