October 28, 2011
New Opportunity School for Women wins $5,000 in AARP Create the Good Contest; Finalist for $10,000 grand prize

Jane Stephenson, Lees-McRae College Trustee and founder of the New Opportunity School for Women, has made it to the final round of AARP Create the Good's Win & Do Good national volunteer story competition. She is one of seven finalists selected from more than 1,800 contest participants from across the U.S. and has already won $5,000 for her preferred charity, the New Opportunity School for Women!

Stephenson was reading AARP magazine several months ago and saw an opportunity to write about your favorite charity in 250 words or less. "I took about an hour to write something about the NOSW, and then sort of forgot about it, so I am thrilled," said Stephenson.

You can help the New Opportunity School be the grand prize winner, an additional $10,000 for the NOSW. Voting begins October 21 and continues through November 18. You can vote as often as once a day. Please go to to vote.�

Jane B. Stephenson, wife of former Berea College President, John Stephenson, founded the NOSW in Berea, Kentucky in 1987. The program grew out of an urgent need for women in Appalachia to become better educated and employed. This need gave rise to the New Opportunity School for Women's Mission of improving the educational, financial, and personal circumstances of low-income, middle-aged women in Kentucky and the south central Appalachian region. Nearly 700 women have graduated from the New Opportunity School for Women, and 79 percent are employed, in school or both.

In 2005, Lees-McRae College in Banner Elk, NC became home to the second New Opportunity School for Women.�

Media Contact:

Blaine Hansen  |  Vice President of Strategic Planning and Effectiveness
Tel: 828.898.8838  |  Email: