Musical Theatre, BFA

The BFA degree in Musical Theatre is rooted in the liberal arts tradition of Lees-McRae College and provides training across all areas of the performing arts, while paying careful attention to the complete musical theatre performer and to the growth of the BFA student as a whole person. Auditioning assistance, a required performance internship and excellent performance experiences through LMC's production season allow the BFA students to hone their individual talents and prepare for careers as professional entertainers.

Students are accepted into the BFA program through an audition process during their first year. Continuation in the BFA program is dependent on continued progress in the degree program and minimum GPA requirements.


Production Calendar    |    Scholarship Auditions    |    Student Organizations

Curriculum

Unlike the Performing Arts Studies degree, BFA students are required to complete only two competencies: Performance and Academic Review, Personal Reflection and Service, but are required to complete coursework in all five competency areas.

Sample Courses

Acting in Musical Theatre
Arts Management, Leadership and Community Development
Auditioning
Basic Piano
Dance Technique
Fundamentals of Music
History and Literature of Musical Theatre
Jazz Studies
Movement for the Stage
Music Analysis
Musical Theatre I, II
Private Voice
Social Dance
Stage Combat
Tap Studies

See full degree requirements in the College Catalog


Career Opportunities

The BFA in Musical Theatre is a professional degree program designed to prepare our graduates to pursue careers as performers and leaders in musical theatre.

  • Acting
  • Dancer
  • Theatre Management
  • Vocal Performer

Faculty

Danielle Curtis, MFA
Interim Chair, Division of Creative and Fine Arts, Assistant Professor for Performing Arts,
Technical Director
Lighting/Set Designer
curtisD@lmc.edu
Pam Joslin, BS
Administrative Assistant
Division of Creative and Fine Arts, 
Lees-McRae Summer Theatre
JoslinP@lmc.edu
Michael Hannah, PhD
Program Coordinator for BFA in Musical Theatre, 
Assistant Professor for Performing Arts
Costume Designer and Director
HannahM@lmc.edu
Stacey Burgess Trivett
Adjunct Dance Faculty
trivetts@lmc.edu
Paul Adamson, MM
Staff Accompanist and Instructor
Adamson@lmc.edu
Drew Wallace
Assistant Technical Director
wallacea@lmc.edu
Erin Wallace
Summer Theatre Managing Director
wallacee@lmc.edu
Mindi Bishop
Costume Shop Supervisor
Assistant Director, Creative and Performing Arts Camp
BishopMA@lmc.edu

Stephanie Bengtson
Adjunct Dance Faculty
bengstons@lmc.edu

 

Contact Us

Michael Hannah, PhD
Program Coordinator for BFA in Musical Theatre
Assistant Professor for Performing Arts
Costume Designer and Director
HannahM@lmc.edu