Werner claims Cyclo-Cross National Championship

January 13, 2014

Kerry Werner (Banner Elk, N.C./Lees-McRae College) successfully defended his title as the Division I men's national champion after he completed his six-lap race in 47:26. Werner, who would go on to finish 11th in the elite men's race later in the day, started strong and coasted to victory. Andrew Dillman (Fairdale, Ky./Marian University) finished 39 seconds behind Werner in second place. Kevin Fish (Austin, Texas/University of Texas at Austin) edged Alexander Martin (Madison, Wis./University of Wisconsin-Madison) in a two-rider sprint for third place. Fish and Martin each finished 1:03 behind Werner. Brandon Feehery (Homewood, Ill./Lindenwood University) claimed the last spot on the podium when he edged Joshua Johnson (Fort Wayne, Ind./Marian University) in a sprint for fifth place. Feehery crossed the finish line 1:45 behind Werner.
Werner, who won this national title for third time today, turned five of his six laps in under eight minutes. With a secure lead, Werner rode his last lap cautiously and finished it in 8:02.
"I wanted to put the pressure on early," Werner said. "I figured if I did that, I would be able to ride my own race. I really didn't want to sit in and let the other guys battle it out because something technical could have happened. I didn't want to leave it up to chance."

Click here for the full story from USACycling.com

Media Contact:

Nina Mastandrea  |  Content Manager
Tel: 828.898.8729  |  Email: mastandrean@lmc.edu
Kerry Werner riding to his third Division I men's national championship in Cyclo-cross.