College celebrates 59th annual Honors and Awards

Students, faculty and staff gathered Thursday, April 19, in Evans Auditorium to celebrate the recipients of several coveted awards in academics, leadership and service as part of the traditional Honors and Awards event.

The afternoon began with a welcome by Lees-McRae Provost, Todd Lidh. His acknowledgements were followed by a performance from the college’s choral ensemble, The Highlanders, before moving into awards.

The event featured 31 awards presented to both main campus and distance learning students, as well as faculty and staff. Some of the most notable awards included the Mary Mildred Sullivan Award, the Edgar Tufts Faculty Award and the Edgar Tufts Humanitarian Service Award.

Student, Britney Carswell, received the Mary Mildred Sullivan Award. The award, supported by the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation, is given to a graduating senior, alumnus or community member whose “nobility of character” and service to others sets them apart as an example to all. 

Dean of the School of Business and Management, Amy Anderson, was awarded with the Edgar Tufts Faculty Award. In memory of Lees-McRae founder Rev. Edgar Tufts, the award is presented to a faculty member for outstanding professional performance or contributions to the welfare of the college or community.

Student, Rebecca Simerly, and Vice President of Student Development and Dean of Students, Jon Driggers, received the Edgar Tufts Humanitarian Service. The award is given to one student and one employee of Lees-McRae who best exemplifies a life of service in both the community and on campus. Recipients unselfishly give of their time and talents, show a true openness and concern for others and display a life of giving.

The 59th annual Honors and Awards marks the start of many end of the year events across campus. The Baccalaureate Service will take place Friday, May 4, at 7 p.m. before recognizing the class of 2018 the following morning, Saturday, May 5, during Commencement. For more information, please visit

Sullivan Award recipient Britney Carswell, presented by President Buxton
Edgar Tufts Faculty Award recipient Amy Anderson, presented by Dr. Todd Lidh
Edgar Tufts Humanitarian Service Award recipient Rebecca Simerly, presented by President Buxton
Edgar Tufts Humanitarian Service Award recipient Jon Driggers, presented by President Buxton
By Nina MastandreaApril 20, 2018
Online LearningCampus LifeAthleticsFamiliesAcademics