2022 Whalen Grant faculty recipients announced

Lees-McRae faculty members will receive Whalen Grant funds to participate in professional development opportunities. Each year the college allocates funds through the grant, allowing faculty members to stay on the cutting edge of research and continued education in their respective fields.

The Whalen Research Scholar and Master Teacher grants were originally endowed by SJ Whalen, who was a member of the Lees-McRae Board of Trustees, and his wife Mildred. The grants are awarded to faculty members who are committed to engaging in research that leads to the development and implementation of innovative techniques and methods in his or her field, all of this with the goal of, in turn, enhancing their teaching abilities.

Faculty members can apply for the grant to receive funding for conferences, seminars, licenses, and more. This year nine faculty members will be receiving the funds, totaling more than $6,500 in awarded grants. The faculty and the conferences they will be attending are as follows:

  • Veterinarian and Association Professor Amber McNamara: North American Veterinary Community/Wildlife Rehabilitators of NC in Orlando, FL.
  • Assistant Professor of English Matthew Wimberley: Association of Writers and Writing Programs in Philadelphia, PA; Appalachian Studies Conference in Morgantown, WV.
  • Instructor of Nursing Danielle Moore: Certified Nurse Educator Exam
  • Director of the May Wildlife Rehabilitation Center Nina Fischesser: National Wildlife Rehabilitators Association Symposium 2022 in Madison, WI.
  • Associate Professor of History Robert Turpin: International Cycling History Conference in Indianapolis, IN.
  • Assistant Professor of Biology Dee Medford-Baker: American College of Sports Medicine Membership.
  • Program Coordinator for Exercise Science, Nutrition Science, and Pre-Physical Therapy Sally Wimberley: Food & Nutrition Conference & Expo (virtual).
  • Director of the Stephenson Center Kathy Olson: Appalachian Studies Association in Morgantown, WV.
  • Director of Library Services Jess Bellemer: ALA LibLearn X-American Library Association (virtual).
  • Dean of the Persistence and Completion Experience Beth Beggs: BAMSI Travel.
  • Program Coordinator of History and Associate Professor Scott Huffard: Southern Historical Association.
  • Dean of Arts, Education, and Humanities Pam Vesely.
  • Assistant Dean of School of Natural and Behavioral Sciences and Assistant Professor of Biology Shinjini Goswami: Facilitate research network for undergraduates across curricula and campuses in Harrogate, TN; Teaching and Leadership Institute's Teaching and Learning Track: Reflect, Recharge, Refocus in Maryville, TN.
By Maya JarrellApril 07, 2022