Fall 2022 induction ceremony recognizes newest members of Order of the Sacred Flame

Eleven new members were inducted into the Order of the Sacred Flame on Monday, Aug. 29, symbolizing their commitment to making a planned gift to the college.

Named after a poem written by Lees-McRae founder Edgar Tufts in 1895, the Order of the Sacred Flame was established in the 2000s as a planned giving program for members of the Lees-McRae community who wish to include the college in their estate plans.

“A vibrant planned giving program provides a way for donors to honor Lees-McRae with a much larger gift after their passing than they could have given during their lifetime,” Major Gifts Officer Sam Stephenson said. “Planned gifts help secure the future plans and development of Lees-McRae and are a critical element of support for the college.”

The Order of the Sacred Flame continues the spirit of investing in community that Tufts emphasized when he first founded the college. This induction ceremony honors and celebrates a special group of Bobcats who seek to carry on Tufts’ legacy.

“Our founder, Rev. Edgar Tufts, wrote of the Sacred Flame that drove his passion for serving others. Our donors who have made a provision for Lees-McRae in their estate plans help keep that sacred flame alive, and they share that same passion for leaving a lasting legacy that benefits Lees-McRae and our students,” President Lee King said. “Having the opportunity to show our gratitude for gifts yet to come is one of the most important and special things we can do.”

The fall 2022 inductees are as follows:

  • Barbara and Jim Whitton
  • Gail Miller ‘72
  • McNair and Debi Tornow
  • Keith and Julia McCombs ’75
  • Lynda and David Burke ‘72
  • Ginny Burton
  • Talia Freeman ‘07

Learn more about Planned and Major Gifts at Lees-McRae

By Maya JarrellSeptember 06, 2022