Students secure Elizabeth McRae and Shelton Scholarships at Scholars Day 2024

Scholars Day is an annual event hosted by the Lees-McRae College Honors Program where incoming students who have been accepted to the college and meet the Honors Program requirements compete for prestigious scholarships. All high school students who participate in Scholars Day must meet a high academic standard with their high school studies: a grade point average of 3.75 or higher and an SAT score of 1150 or above (or an equivalent ACT score).

The two most prestigious and most generous awards of the day are the Elizabeth McRae Scholarship and the Shelton Scholarship.

The Elizabeth McRae Scholarship, named for one of the college’s namesakes and renowned Southern educator Elizabeth McRae, offers full tuition for four years of undergraduate study at the college, and is awarded to students based on their performance in the essay and interview sections at Scholars Day. This year’s recipients are incoming freshmen Azalea Forest, Kat Bowie, and Anna Fleming.

“I am so incredibly grateful to have received the opportunity of the Elizabeth McRae Scholarship. I have big goals for my life, and this scholarship has given me the financial means to make them happen! As a Wildlife Biology major, Lees McRae is the perfect school for me because of the incredible academic program and the proximity to nature!” – Azalea Forest

“I hadn't heard about Lees-McRae until a couple months into senior year, but I immediately fell in love. I've never had a dream school, but Lees-McRae quickly became that for me. Financially, I held back from committing, but winning this scholarship was like a relief for me and helped me realize just how much I wanted to come here. I'm so excited to start my life as a Bobcat!” – Kat Bowie

“I am so thrilled to be attending Lees-McRae this fall! It has been such a blessing to find a school that fits my needs to perfectly, and by receiving this scholarship I am able to assuredly make Lees-McRae my home. I am very excited to participate in the Honors Program, as well as learn in an environment that is both beautiful and close-knit.” – Anna Fleming

The Shelton Scholarshipnamed for Ed and Dotti Shelton in honor of the generous leadership, guidance, and support they have provided to the college for decadeswas also awarded at this year’s Scholars Day. The Shelton Scholarship is a full-tuition scholarship that also provides room and board. It is awarded to one student every four years.

This year’s recipient of the Shelton Scholarship is incoming freshman Violet Moler, who was awarded the scholarship at Scholars Day for her performance in the interview and essay sections. Both the Elizabeth McRae Scholarship and the Shelton Scholarship are valued at more than $130,000 across four years.

In addition to the full-tuition scholarships, several partial-tuition Distinguished Scholar Awards were given to participants of Scholars Day:

  • Addie Malley
  • Lola Patel
  • Bryce Little
  • Kira Gibson
  • Swayer Graham
  • Trinity Richard
  • Megan Brookes
  • Aela Robinson
  • Rylee Boosinger
  • Pamela Colon
  • Ani Hernandez-Namoff
  • Daelyn Brown

“I fell in love with the campus and the Wildlife Biology program the first time I visited Lees-McRae. I'm beyond grateful for the opportunity this scholarship has given me!” – Violet Moler

By Maya JarrellMay 23, 2024