Summer Theatre 2019 Season

Mamma Mia!
 
Show Times:

Thursday, June 27 at 7 p.m.
Friday, June 28 at 7 p.m.
Saturday, June 29 at 7 p.m.
Sunday, June 30 at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, July 2 at 2 and 7 p.m.
Wednesday, July 3 at 2 p.m.
From the Mountaintop: The Edgar Tufts Story
 
Show Times:

Thursday, July 11 at 7 p.m.
Friday, July 12 at 7 p.m.
Saturday, July 13 at 7 p.m.
Sunday, July 14 at 2 p.m.
Tuesday, July 16 at 2 and 7 p.m.
Wednesday, July 17 at 2 p.m.
Newsies
 
Show Times:

Tuesday, July 30 at 7 p.m.
Wednesday, July 31 at 7 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 1 at 7 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 2 at 7 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 3 at 2 and 7 p.m.
Sunday, Aug. 4 at 2 p.m.
Ticket sales for the 2019 season will be available in April 2019. For more information, please call 828.898.8709.
We look forward to seeing you this summer!

 
Show Details

Mamma Mia!

Mamma Mia! is Judy Craymer’s ingenious melding of iconic Swedish pop group, ABBA, with the enchanting tale of family and friendship on a Greek island paradise. On the eve
of her wedding, a daughter’s quest to discover the identity of her father brings three men from her mother’s past back to the island they had last visited 20 years ago. Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus's songs including "Dancing Queen," "The Winner Takes It All," "Money, Money, Money," and "Take a Chance on Me" are all featured in this feel-good night of fun and laughter.
 

From The Mountaintop: The Edgar Tufts Story

What did Banner Elk, North Carolina, look like in the 1890s? With the vision of a young seminary student, one tiny town gained a church, a college, an orphanage, and a hospital.” 

The story of Edgar Tufts is compelling and heartwarming. Set to music by John Thomas Oaks and Tommy Oaks, and written by Janet Barton Speer (the team who brought you The Denim King: The Moses Cone Story), this work is presented after thoughtful research among the families who have lived here for generations. Using traditional mountain music mixed with a lyrical style, audiences will be moved and inspired by this great man. You will not want to miss From the Mountaintop: The Edgar Tufts Story.

Newsies

Newsies is the rousing tale of Jack Kelly, a charismatic newsboy and leader of a band of teenaged "newsies." When titans of publishing raise distribution prices at the newsboys’ expense, Jack rallies newsies from across the city to strike against the unfair conditions and fight for what's right! Set in New York City in 1899, Newsies with extraordinary dancing, acting, and music will appeal to musical lovers everywhere. 

Theatre for Young Audiences:
A Whale of a Tale

July 6, July 20, July 27, and August 3 at 10 a.m.
Shelton Learning Commons
Ticket Price: $10

A Whale of a Tale is the ingenious telling of the biblical story of Jonah. Composers and writers John Thomas Oaks and Tommy Oaks have taken their two-man show to venues across the country. The show captures children's imagination as two actors play all the parts and move with hilarity from a pirate's saloon to the ocean, to the belly of a fish and back. 
 
 

Audition Information

Casting has begun for our 2019 season and will continue until all roles are filled. It is recommended that you submit your audition materials as soon as possible.

See audition information